Genral Information

The society of the Catholic Apostolate is an International Community of priests and brothers founded by a Roman Priest, St. Vincent Pallotti (1795 – 1850). From his name it receives its popular name “Pallottines”. The official Latin name is Societas Apostolatus catholici. And SAC, the abbreviation used by the Pallottines, stems from the first letter of this name

The Society is part of the Union of the Catholic Apostolate, founded in 1835. Right now the Society counts 2300 members, who live in more than 300 local communities in all continents and in more than 40 countries. As regards the number of members the Pallottines occupy the 17th place among the religious communities of men.

The members, priests and brothers, bind themselves to the Society by the promises of chastity, poverty, obedience, perseverance, the sharing of resources and the spirit of service.

The Pallottines are dedicated to promoting the Universal, or Catholic, Apostolate by following the motto of founder St. Vincent Pallotti, “The Love of Christ urges us on!”

Mary, Queen of the Apostles, is the Patroness of the Society.


The Society of the Catholic Apostolate as Society of Apostolic Life has a hierarchical structure at three levels. The supreme administrative organ is the General Administration with its office in Rome.

The second level of organisation is constituted of the Provinces and Regions. These are independent organisational units with a certain number of members. The Provincial/Regional Regimes coordinate the life and activity of the respective entity, take personal decisions and are responsible for the spiritual and community life of the members. The superiors of such entities are called Provincial or Regional Rectors. The Society is divided into 13 Provinces and 8 Regions. Each one of them got its proper name, which, at the same time, determines its titular and patrons feast.

At the third organisational level we have the Local Communities in which the Pallottines live and work. In the whole world around 300 canonically erected Local Communities exist. Some of them are small and consist of three or four members, and the others (for eg. houses of formation, major seminaries) have bigger number of members

List of Provinces and Regions


1.Italian Province: Queen of Apostles

2.German: Sacred Heart of Jesus


4.Polish: Christ the King

5.Brazilian: Our Lady of Victory

6.Swiss: St. Nicholas de Flue

7.American: Mother of God

8.Brazilian: St. Paul the Apostle

9.American: Immaculate Conception

10.Indian: Epiphany of the Lord

11.Polish: Annunciation of the Lord

12.Indian: Assumption of the B.M.V.

13. Indian : Light of Christ


1.Uruguay: St. Vincent Pallotti

2.French: Mercy of God

3.Argentinean: B.M.V. of Lujan

4.Australian: Mary Queen of the World

5.Rwandan: Holy Family

6.Brazilian: Mother of Mercy